Company Message - Company Message


Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA)

This Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement, also known CAVA or TAQA, replaces the A1\A2 and D32\D33 assessor awards.  It is designed for assessors who are working with students completing a range of vocational qualifications from the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF); these include NVQ/Diplomas, Technical Certificates and Functional Skills.

The course is made up of the following units:
  • Understanding the Principles and Practices
  • Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment
  • Assess Vocational Skills, Knowledge and Understanding

If you already have an assessor qualification (A1\A2 or D32\D33) you can update this by attending the one-day workshop. You will receive a certificate of attendance and resources to support a review of best practice in your workplace.

There are no formal examinations to this qualification and no entry requirements, but you must be able to demonstrate occupational competence and qualifications in your assessment sector.
You also must have access to at least two students completing a QCF qualification and a qualified assessor to mentor you through the program.

Each qualification will start with a one to one planning session, followed by a full days training on the dates shown. 
You will complete a portfolio of evidence which will be assessed by your TAQA Assessor. You will also complete a range of tasks including observations, written questions and a professional discussion.

Call us for pricing and information 

Course Information

 Level 4 Award in the External Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice 
The IQ Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (QCF) is a nationally recognised qualification designed for individuals who work within an internal quality assurance role. The qualification provides recognition for the knowledge and practical ability in internal quality assurance and assessment processes and is relevant to a variety of sectors.
It replaces the V1 and D34 qualifications and incorporates the full range of activity involved in internal quality assurance.

The Level 4 Award (previously V1 award) in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) is a 12 credit and 90 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 2 mandatory units. (Identified in the Course Structure.)
This qualification replaces the V1. It is part of the new suite of qualifications for assessors, internal quality assurers (IQA).

This qualification is required for:

  • verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years. Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.

  • Quality assurance staff who deliver QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications.

  • Some staff, who are quality assuring qualifications within the QCF framework that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold this IQA qualification.

  • This qualification will be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals.


Unit 1: Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment which provides the opportunity to relate underpinning knowledge and understanding to practice of internal quality assurance. Sharing knowledge and experience with peers and colleagues provides an opportunity both to share good practice and to reflect on assessment approaches.

Unit 2: This unit will give you the opportunity to apply the principles and requirements of internal quality assurance to a real working context and identify ways in which to develop and improve your practice.
Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.
The range of direct evidence MUST include:

    • monitoring of a minimum of TWO assessors
    • assessment of a minimum of TWO candidates per assessor
    • observation of practice
    • examination of products of work
    • questioning

These can be supplemented, where necessary, with professional discussion, reflective accounts or witness statements.

Call us for pricing and information 

Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint